Taurus Quartet…

…consists of four experienced musicians who each have an established reputation in the chamber music world. 
The love for the quartet repertoire, the joy of digging deep into these masterpieces together and the search for harmony, electricity and a unique sound in their quartet playing, are the driving forces behind the Taurus Quartet.

News!

Taurus Quartet has completed its first CD project! A musical diptych with works by Schubert and Janáček, with the overarching theme ‘the approaching death’: Horizon funèbre.

The full picture of the painting ‘Wheatfield with Crows’, the Horizon funèbre of Van Gogh, will be created by our two CDs!

The two works recorded here have many striking similarities, despite having been composed more than a century apart: both works are programmatic in character and have a direct link with literary works in which death is omnipresent. The inspiration that both composers drew from these texts makes the imaginative and narrative power of the music highly tangible. Both works provide a direct expression of the extreme emotions that death summons up: grief, pain, despair and madness.

The continuous and palpable tension between the cruelty of death and the fragility of life is fundamental to the 14th quartet of Schubert, ‘Death and the Maiden’. The young girl resists death and pleads with him to leave. Death, however, tries to seduce her and to convince her that she will find rest with him. This ambiguity of death, simultaneously scarifying and consoling, is what makes the piece so gripping.

Janáček based his first string quartet on a short story by Tolstoy, which ends with a terrible murder. Every metaphor and emotion of Tolstoys story is woven into a coherent musical narration. We hear tenderness, madness, despair, aggression, euphoria, and finally the rattling of the speeding train on which the greater part of Tolstoy’s story has taken place. The clattering rhythm of the train is the same as the crazed tarantella in Schubert’s quartet: in both pieces, the finale hurtles to its conclusion in a lunatic dance of death.

The combination of these two works on one CD is unique in the field. Despite the fact that there is almost a century between these two compositions, there are some striking similarities. They are final string quartets, written just before the death of these composers; reflecting on life and celebrating it, both with their own unique expression and both overwhelming in their extremes.

Schubert’s last string quartet is a magnum opus, a work in which he describes the greatness of life in all its dimensions, by using unprecedented sound effects and dynamic extremes. The first movement has the rhythm as a motor, the heartbeat of the music. The following movement combines the most tender singing with fierce and wild outbursts. A nervousness in the scherzo with a flashback to a touching, naive and child-like tune in the trio. And a wonderful finale, in which sadness and euforia go hand in hand at any time.

In his dying years Janáček wrote a musical reflection on the 600 letters written to his great platonic love, the 38 years younger Kamila. The extremes that resound here are overwhelming… the pain, sadness and anger, but also pure love, tenderness and ecstasy have perhaps never been so humanly and directly expressed as in this work.

Contact Etcetera Records if you would like to receive a CD

Quatuor Taurus…

Wietse Beels et Liesbeth Baelus (violons), Vincent Hepp (alto) et Martijn Vink (violoncelle) ont chacun une longue expérience et une réputation établie dans le domaine de la musique de chambre. L’amour du répertoire, la recherche de profondeur, énergie et raffinement d’ensemble, ainsi que la recherche d’un son de quatuor reconnaissable entre mille, tels sont les moteurs de l’existence du Quatuor Taurus..

Nouvelles !!

Le Quatuor Taurus a terminé son premier projet de CD! Un diptyque musical avec des œuvres de Schubert et Janáček, avec le thème général «Horizon funèbre».

Les couvertures des deux disques constituent ensemble la reproduction d’un tableau de Vincent van Gogh, le « champ de blé aux corbeaux ».

Même si plus de cent ans séparent les deux compo- sitions enregistrées ici, les similitudes sont frappantes : dans les deux cas, il s’agit d’œuvres par nature à programme, qui possèdent un lien direct avec des textes littéraires, et où le thème de la mort est omniprésent. L’inspiration que les deux compositeurs tirent de ces textes rend la force de narration et de représentation de leur musique très tangible. Les deux œuvres expriment de façon très directe des sentiments extrêmes qui évoquent la mort : chagrin, douleur, angoisse, désespoir, folie…

Au sein de ce quatuor no.14 de Schubert, la tension sensible entre la cruauté de la mort et la fragilité de la vie est essentielle. La jeune fille s’oppose à la mort et lui demande de partir. La mort essaye plutôt de la séduire et de la convaincre qu’elle trouvera le repos auprès d’elle. C’est cette ambiguïté de la mort, à la fois terrifiante et consolatrice, qui rend cette pièce si émouvante.

Le premier quatuor de Janáček, « Sonate à Kreutzer », est basé sur une nouvelle de Tolstoï, qui fini avec un terrible meurtre de la passion. Tous les ingrédients de cette nouvelle sont tissées ensemble en un récit musical qui se tient : tendresse, démence, désespoir, agression, euphorie, et pour finir la représentation d’un train qui passe à toute vitesse et dans lequel la plupart du récit de Tolstoï se déroule. Le rythme galopant du train est celui de la tarentelle démente, par lequel, tout comme dans le finale de Schubert, l’œuvre avance à grand bruit vers la fin, comme une danse macabre possédée.

La juxtaposition de ces deux œuvres sur disque est unique : malgré le siècle qui les sépare, les similitudes sont frappantes. Deux œuvres ultimes, conçus au seuil de la mort, d’expression directe et toute en contrastes.

Le dernier quatuor de Schubert est vraiment un magnum opus : une œuvre qui traduit la grandeur de l’existence dans des couleurs inouïes et des nuances extrêmes. Après un premier mouvement traversé d’un battement de cœur dans toute sa diversité rythmique, un second mouvement où sont révélées des tendresses aussitôt balayées par la fureur, puis un scherzo tout en nervosité et un trio tout en nostalgie, le final nous transporte dans sa joie euphorique où transperce ici et là une larme.

L’année de sa mort Janacek confie à la musique ses sentiments d’amour platonique pour Kamila, de 38 ans sa cadette ; il lui adressera 600 lettres … Tout ce que cette situation a d’inhabituel s’y retrouve : l’excitation de l’amour, mais aussi la peur d’être rejeté, et l’opiniâtreté avec laquelle il a mené sa cour, tout cela résulte en une musique toute en contrastes et en aspérités … Encore aujourd’hui, nous sommes frappés par l’humanité profonde d’une expression si directe.

Contactez Etcetera Records pour commander un CD.